Trust vs Irresponsibility

Hi people.
Hope y’all had a great Easter and a relaxing worker’s day. I spent mine with family…both holidays.
So to catch you all up – I’ve moved into my flat. It’s nice and comfy and cute except for the fact that I don’t have a couch yet. Who needs a couch when u got a gym ball right? Despite the lack of a couch I still manage to find myself sprawled in front of the tv more often than I’d like.
Living on the ground floor in a tropical country means you get visited by more crawlies than I’d like. So for now the can of bug spray is my best friend.
However my issues and lack of what may seem important to me pales in the face of tragedies going on around me. I live in a country that trivializes life, where the value of almost 300 children abducted from their school is reduced to a political game. Where the security agencies try to brush their clumsiness and ineptitude under the carpet by stringing the public along with lies. Where the government jokes that if the developed world can’t find a missing flight then maybe we should cut him some slack?
The police and military do nothing. That is not entirely true…they clog our motorways collecting money from transporters who are trying to eke out a living, they take the uniform as a right to beat people who they perceive to have disrespected them. A few weeks ago I watched a video where one of them beat a girl who was selling food for refusing to serve him something, pointed his gun at civilians and then shot into the air.
We pride ourselves for our resilience…but are we really? We make jokes about serious stuff, and finish discussions on the sorry state of things and whatever latest news of mayhem and death we receive with the phrase “God will help us”. Really? Does that absolve us of all blame and responsibility?
Where I ask do we draw the line between trusting and being entirely irresponsible? When do we stop making excuses for not doing the fundamental things? When do we start caring about the next person more than accumulating obscene amounts of personal wealth at the common man’s expense?
My heart is heavy, for those who have lost people in the sustained violence over the years, for the families of the children, for us who take it for granted cos it seems far removed from us, for a nation that lacks respect for her greatest asset – her people- and has reneged on her promise to uphold and protect their fundamental human rights.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment